Five new countries join the African Continental Free Trade Area Agreement

By professo

The African Continental Free Trade Area Agreement (AfCFTA) receives five new signatures, bringing the total countries to have signed at 49.

Burundi, Lesotho, Namibia, Sierra Leone, and South Africa have all demonstrated their commitment to the free trade bloc.

The AfCFTA, which can be operational once ratified by 22 countries, will be one of the largest free trade zones in the world.


It is anticipated that the bloc will increase intercontinental trade by as much as 52% due to the elimination of tariffs and non-tariff barriers.

Tariffs could be removed for up to 90% of goods and commodities – creating free access across the continent.

The five nations signed the agreement at the 31st Ordinary Session of the Africa Union General Assembly, which was themed on ‘Winning the Fight Against Corruption: A Sustainable Path to Africa’s Transformation.’

The assembly was held on 2 July in Nouakchott, the capital of Mauritania.


Featured Articles

Top 10 most innovative telecom operators in the Middle East

With Dubai-based Telecoms World Middle East in full swing, we chart the most innovative telcos from the region – and look at how they are transforming

Top 10 fastest-growing Indian companies in the UK

Business Chief takes a look at the top 10 fastest-growing Indian companies in the UK, according to the India Meets Britain Tracker from Grant Thornton

Top 10 workplaces prioritising people and planet in the UAE

Sustainable, flexible, collaborative, tech-driven, and amenities-rich, the office of the future considers both people and planet – here are 10 in the UAE

Top 10 female HR execs leading Saudi’s workplace transition

Leadership & Strategy

Top 10 largest asset managers by AUM operating in the UAE

Corporate Finance

Top 10 female CEOs leading Africa’s biggest businesses

Leadership & Strategy